COMMON EMITTER WITH CURRENT MIRROR

Ghina Bayyat

Joined Mar 11, 2018
i have a question about this circuit

there is no problem with the solution i already did it but what i don't understand is why the transistor in the saturation ? since Rc = 2260 Ω and VRc ≈ 11.3 v and Ve ≈0.7v so vce ≈ 50mv
the simulation did work well too as if there is no problem at all but i don't understand how could a transistor work as an amplifier in the saturation region ??

Zeeus

Joined Apr 17, 2019
Noob here :
operating in the FAR? please what's FAR
Maybe 50mv Vce does not saturate it?

And collector of Q2 is 0.7v? not necessary I think

what was peak to peak of input signal?

//Making the circuit

Wilson mirror might do

Last edited:

Ylli

Joined Nov 13, 2015
Why did you set Rc = 2260 ohms? Don't you want to set the collector of Q1 at about 1/2 Vcc?

So you would want to drop about 6 volts across Rc, with a current (as determined by the mirror) of 5 mA. R = E/I = 6/5 = 1.2K.

Wolframore

Joined Jan 21, 2019
Lots of missing information. I was able to kind of simulate it but it’s clipping. I couldn’t get it to linear amplification of a small input signal. But it is dropping out on the low. So sort of an signal gain. If you play with it you can make upside down Batman looking things with it.

Zeeus

Joined Apr 17, 2019
Why did you set Rc = 2260 ohms? Don't you want to set the collector of Q1 at about 1/2 Vcc?

So you would want to drop about 6 volts across Rc, with a current (as determined by the mirror) of 5 mA. R = E/I = 6/5 = 1.2K.
Maybe he is an experimenter just testing...And saw today in diff amp that not always to put it at 1/2 Vcc

Ylli

Joined Nov 13, 2015
Maybe he is an experimenter just testing...And saw today in diff amp that not always to put it at 1/2 Vcc
When configured as a full diff amp, the output is usually the current, and the 'Rc' is actually a real resistor and the B-E junction of the next transistor.

Zeeus

Joined Apr 17, 2019
Hmmm..An expert is needed.... Thanks