CNC x-axis motor not moving

Thread Starter

quique123

Joined May 15, 2015
405
Thanks, Im just trying to get a laser engraver going with some simple motors taken from old dvd drives.

ISSUE#1
From what I understand so far, the first issue I must address is fixing why the Y+ button results in the axis moving 2.5 and the X+ results in the axis moving 2.0. I would think this has to do with the $$ settings, but I dont see any numbers that show a difference between X and Y axes. In other words, in these config settings all x and y's are equal as highlighted in bold.:

Code:
>>> $$
...(above in post#1)
[B]$100 = 250.000 (x, step/mm)
$101 = 250.000 (y, step/mm)[/B]
$102 = 250.000 (z, step/mm)
[B]$110 = 500.000 (x max rate, mm/min)
$111 = 500.000 (y max rate, mm/min)[/B]
$112 = 500.000 (z max rate, mm/min)
[B]$120 = 10.000 (x accel, mm/sec^2)
$121 = 10.000 (y accel, mm/sec^2)[/B]
$122 = 10.000 (z accel, mm/sec^2)
[B]$130 = 200.000 (x max travel, mm)
$131 = 200.000 (y max travel, mm)[/B]
$132 = 200.000 (z max travel, mm)
But I believe these settings only apply to uploaded image files, not manual jogging. But even in the settings for the manual jogging (on the right side of ugs software), the XY steps are lumped together so there is no way for me to enter a separate value for X and Y. In these settings F is set to 25 and XY step I think is set to 1" which would equal to 2.5cm. Could it be because the motors are different? I think that might be the issue.

ISSUE#2
Overshooting. When I use this circle file (circle), the motors run off and end up clicking hard trying to reach a far away position (as seen in post#7 video). That does NOT happen when using my square file. Upon inspecting the visualize screen of the circle file I see its dimensions are 25.4 and 25.4. Units I have no idea. But upon inspecting the movements of the motors and given my platform is about 7 cm x 7 cm, there is no way that code is drawing a 1" diameter circle, so something else is off in the $$ settings. Then I open my square file and i get dimensions of 10 and 10. This results in a rectangle of 2.5cm x 2.0 cm. But it doesn't run off or overshoot at any point.
 

Thread Starter

quique123

Joined May 15, 2015
405
I got it. So it turns out my x axis was running shorter because the motor was actually running to its limit but it was a very small amount so it didn't click hard like when I tried drawing the circle. I moved my zero point closer to the other side and now it travels the square perfectly. I say "travels" because I haven't attached the laser to it yet.

OK so when we say G00 X10, that means 10 steps, right? Not 10 mm! Well actually in my case X10 moves 25mm.
 
Last edited:

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
28,686
OK so when we say G00 X10, that means 10 steps, right? Not 10 mm! Well actually in my case X10 moves 25mm.
I have never worked with that kind of system, all the ones I work with use a dimension, either metric or Imperial, a 'step' has to relate to a distance moved.;)
Max.
 

Picbuster

Joined Dec 2, 2013
1,047
I got it. So it turns out my x axis was running shorter because the motor was actually running to its limit but it was a very small amount so it didn't click hard like when I tried drawing the circle. I moved my zero point closer to the other side and now it travels the square perfectly. I say "travels" because I haven't attached the laser to it yet.

OK so when we say G00 X10, that means 10 steps, right? Not 10 mm! Well actually in my case X10 moves 25mm.
NO NO please read Manual.
G00 X10 means move 10mm ( when using a metric system) so G01 X10.12 Y10.12 F200 will move under 45 degree with a speed of 200
If you use inches it could be 1/10 of an inch however I don't know about the funny imperial measures.

Picbuster
 

Thread Starter

quique123

Joined May 15, 2015
405
ok thanks. what is the .12 in X10.12 and Y10.12...is it actually 10.12 decimal number or is the "dot" code for something else?
 

Picbuster

Joined Dec 2, 2013
1,047
And always from the work-piece zero point not the table. In my case 480 x 180 mm minimum displacement = 0,007mm and the big one 1200x 1000mm min displ 0,003 ( also linked to stability and mill size. small machine 2KW spindle, machine mass 300Kg, mill max 12 mm approx,
The big one 4KW spindle, machine mass 4000Kg mill max 60 mm approx.)
zero point:
most of the machines do have; x-right y-top mill high as 0,0,0 in my case the table is from 0,0,0 to -480,-180, xxx as xx is z-axis
Your work piece is some where in that area and it's position must be defined by you ( see manual).

Again please get a Gcode manual and read it.

Picbuster
 
Top