CNC standards ?

Thread Starter

Externet

Joined Nov 29, 2005
2,237
Hi all.
If a part is made on a CNC shop with a brand XYZ machining tool; can the instruction 'set' or software written for it be used somewhere else that has an ABC brand CNC machine instead ? How does it work ? Can the same part be made with another CNC machine overseas by 'emailing' the code, or has to be the same brand CNC machine ?

1650387414340.png
-Just a generic image-
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
28,780
Traditionally the basic code used is "G-Code" an industry standard that is transportable to other M/C's that use this standard.
G-Code records all machining and motion commands, as well as M,S,T, code for general machine control, spindle, tool changer, coolant etc .
Some local modification may be necessary where the second machine may not have the same mechanical feature, tool change for e.g.
 
Last edited:

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
28,780
Incidentally the first methods of creating, recording and loading programs was with the use of punched paper tape, to record, upload and download programs to the M/C..
Then came RS232 via computer etc.
On one CNC forum I am active on, at least once a month, someone is seeking help, their M/C has lost all memory-stored parameters necessary for the machine to function.
They omitted to record these on file, so without said parameters, the machine reverts to a chunk of metal.
Unless they can find someone with a copy, or if the MTB/OEM is still around.
 

drjohsmith

Joined Dec 13, 2021
852
One thing we have seen
is we have given a 3d model to the cnc people,
who we pay to make the parts,
but they will not release the cnc code, as it was not part of the contract
which is perfectly understandable

so if you do want to move around, ensure you own the rights,
 

shortbus

Joined Sep 30, 2009
10,049
One thing we have seen
is we have given a 3d model to the cnc people,
who we pay to make the parts,
but they will not release the cnc code, as it was not part of the contract
which is perfectly understandable

so if you do want to move around, ensure you own the rights,
Having worked where they were slowly transitioning to all CNC, the codes for the machine movements are the same, it's how the operator chooses to do it that is different. They had guys sitting in an office writing code for the machines and some guys used those sets of code. But the guys in the office never actually did any machine work in their life. But on the shop floor we had seasoned machinists that took classes to run a CNC and they wrote their own code to do things in a more "logical" way using their years of "analog" machining experience.

That is probably why the companies you contracted wouldn't give the code, because not everyone does the operations the same way.
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
28,780
I can see why they did not release the code, they were asked to asses the 3d model, write the code and make the parts, if they released the code they came up with, then the option was open for the company to take the code and go out for (lower?) bids.
 

Thread Starter

Externet

Joined Nov 29, 2005
2,237
Thanks fellows. Good information. Today I was looking for a shop that can make a part and stumbled on a site that may be of use for your comment :

someone is seeking help, their M/C has lost all memory-stored parameters necessary for the machine to function.
I know peanuts about the subject, but if is of any help to others, why not sharing it :

----> https://www.cncdrivedoctors.com/contact-us.html
 
Top