Charging super capacitors.

Gavin Brunton

Joined Jul 21, 2015
Hi all,

I'm a layman so be gentle. Basically I live on a boat and I'm off grid. I have a bank off batteries that I use to power my boat. I managed to pick up 6 3000f maxwell capacitors used from eBay. I want to use them in parallel with my 12v battery bank so that when any sudden high current draw motors turn on the capacitors take the strain. I've been told that this should extend the life of my expensive batteries and also extend the ah of the batteries as the relationship between the average current draw and Ah is reversely proportional. The problem I am having is that my solar charger and alternator will not charge the battery or cap bank when it is connected. I'm assuming the the very low resistance of the caps is confusing the changing systems. I've also been told that in hybrid busses that the caps would be isolated from the batteries via a dc to dc Buck converter. This would be very expensive and to be honest beyond my ability to make. My alternator is 175 amps. I was wondering if I could use a high powered resistor between the charging systems and the caps to match the resistance of the caps to that of the batteries so that he charging systems would work? I could then use Buck convertors between the caps and loads which I could get from eBay.

mike_g

Joined Aug 21, 2016
Maybe it is a problem but those big resistors are costly, you could just get so Ni-Chrome wire, and use it as a heater.

did you pre-charge the caps with a power supply?, even a 5 amp model would work but take a very long time..

Then when caps are same voltage a battery (or cell) voltage hook up and no problem... I hope

I got a 80 volt 100000 uF cap in parallel with mine a no problem

I got a 48 volt sys and had many problems with 12 and 6 volt battery's mostly from under charging..
Make sure you got a very volt meter also as I had problems with them showing wrong voltage..
measure at the battery posts.