Cat Whistle, electronic circuit to make a short whistle help.

Tonyr1084

Joined Sep 24, 2015
It hasn't been since high school that I messed with an amplifier circuit. What I'm looking for is quite simple. An amplifier and whistle circuit that operates with the push of a button. Push the button the whistle blows. Release the button the whistle stops.

Here's the weird part - we have two new cats. Will be a year old in May. When they hear a whistle they perk up and run to the kitchen for some reason. I don't know if the person who gave us the cats whistled before feeding them but we've discovered that a whistle will call them from just about anywhere. It's better than calling their name or shaking a treats bag.

The circuit needs to be simple. Just push the button and a speaker emits a fairly loud high pitch whistle. The note I'm thinking of is a C sharp. I'm no piano expert but the note I like is two octaves above what I think is a middle C sharp. A single tone, no complicated, no "C Major" or "C Minor" or "C 5" (looking at a chart). Power source can be a battery of some kind. The note will be seldom used so battery life isn't a major concern. AND this doesn't need to be an exact tone, just something relatively suitable to what I'm trying to describe.

The other day I wanted to bring them home so I whistled a short whistle about a second long and the two of them came running and they ran inside the house. (Oh, and let's not get into a discussion about allowing cats out of the house - we don't need to go there. I understand your concern. It's our decision. Not yours.)

I also don't want to spend a ton of money on this. If I have the spare parts to make this I will. Otherwise if I need to order something - so-be-it. Relatively simple is probably the best way to go about it.

Tonyr1084

Joined Sep 24, 2015