Career dilemma

RG23

Joined Dec 6, 2010
I have been working as an Electrical Engineer since the last four years. I have Master's in EE.

my job duties include programming PIC microcontrollers, troubleshooting circuits, draw and design circuit boards in Multisim/ Ultiboard.

Recently since the last year I have been frequently applying for jobs but not getting any interview calls.

I wonder what is going wrong. Also at this stage of my career, I feel like being stuck and basically lacking the required motivation.

I work here in USA on working visa. I am also having issues with finding an employer that will file for my green card. It is really demotivating me and I am losing focus on my work.

Also I do not have strong references at this point of time. This is my first and present job. How can I give references of the present company while applying elsewhere.

Has anyone gone through such phase? What should I be doing now?

Last edited:

Joined Nov 30, 2010
I have never been employed by any company for more than 3 years, which isn't bad because changing employers always got me a significant pay raise. The real problem is that I get bored easily. When there is nothing left to learn, I change jobs. Same job, different address? No, same skills, different projects.

Your mileage may vary.

cmartinez

Joined Jan 17, 2007
Many years ago I worked for a company that made me feel unchallenged. So I quit my job and started looking for projects out there in the wilderness... Back then I wasn't married or had any financial burdens. But of course your situation is entirely different.
Have you thought about doing projects as an independent consultant? You need to start talking to people in person, and to promote your own services.

bwilliams60

Joined Nov 18, 2012