Career Change at mid-life

ESSO

Joined Feb 14, 2015
Hi All,

Looking for an advice, I am making a career change at mid 40s; I am a technician for a semiconductor company for 19 yrs and a few years back I decided to finish my EE degree, finally I am seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. But I still have some questions that I hope you guys can share your experience and thoughts

Starting this late in the game, What field do you guys think will be better? I personally like Power (because I think it can be an outside job, more hands on and with potential of designing jobs at a later age) I am attracted to design of circuits and this probably will go well with my current company but not sure what will be the day to day duties? or maybe another branch?

Salaries in different branches of EE? As a technician I am doing good and sometimes better than some Engineers? I know I will be making a career change therefore I will probably lose some money. But I would like to have a ballpark? I can't tell my family " Hi guys, I finished my degree, but now we will be tight on money" :) I did not pursue the degree for money, but to be able to do other interesting things

What are you thoughts about continue with a Master or get a PE? Of course after I get a job as an Engineer.
What skills not thought in school do you guys reccomend?

I apologized in advanced for the lengthy post, but I wanted to describe in detail my questions

thanks in Advanced

Gera

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
Power is a good direction to go. Electric cars and grid tied wind and solar are in their second generation and 3rd generation tech is being developed now for these items.

dannyf

Joined Sep 13, 2015
Salaries in different branches of EE?
i can offer some data points: a few years back, we offered packages in the 200 - 225K range for ARM programmed in the 5-10 year range and we never landed one candidate.