Cadmium Resonance Lamp Power Supply

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Ehurlow, Oct 26, 2018.

1. Ehurlow

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 25, 2018
    Hello!

I'm a chemistry grad student working on a photochemistry project for which I need to get a cadmium resonance lamp functioning as it has a spectral emission around 225 nm that would be useful for my reaction. The lamp (16W Philips 93107E) was originally packaged with a power supply, but the lamp I purchased from eBay did not come with one. I've tried tracking down the power supply online via its model number (Philips 59003BT/62), but I haven't found anything. I've also contacted Philips Lighting customer support but was bounced around for over an hour with no results.

Luckily, I found a document (which I've attached) that goes over the technical aspects of the lamp and power supply. Here is an excerpt from the document (p.2):

"Although some of these lamps could be connected to a 220 V A.C. supply,
    with of course suitable current limitation, for easy ignition it is better to supply
    them with a higher voltage. A transformer having an open voltage of 470 V
    at a primary voltage of 220 V is therefore supplied together with the lamp.
    The transformer is an autotransformer of the low power factor type. This
    means that provision is made for a considerable spread of the lines of force,
    which has the same effect as if a choke were connected in series with a
    normal transformer. The current is thereby automatically limited. Consequently
    the working current is practically equal to the short-circuit current, which
    amounts to about 0.9 A. Thanks to the high open voltage the tube ignites
    without the oxide-coated cathodes having to be pre-heated."​
    Here is a figure showing the circuit diagram:
    Resonance Lamp Power Circuit.png
    The lamp is stated as running at 25 W (p.3, Fig. 6, entry 3).