Burned two DC Motor Controllers. Need help.

ZeroOne

Joined Dec 20, 2023
Hello everyone. First time here. Long post, but I try to give as much info as possible.

I am controlling a DC Brushed motor with a PWM Controller Board, which is connected to an ESP32. I have burned my second Controller. I know why the first one burned, but for the second one I just have guesses. I am very new to electronics, and I'd appreciate your input.

• The brushed DC Motor is rated 1.2 HP, 900W, 12V. There is no amperage rating, but I understand 900/12 = 75A
  • The controller was rated 100A continuous.
  • The controller is powered by an external 12V Switching Power Supply connected to wall power (120V)
  • Just before the controller burned, I noticed the power supply shut down, and restarted, which suggests the overload protection in the PS kicked in.

I read that when a DC motor slows down, it can act as a generator, and supply high current back to the system. I read several recommendations to wire a same-volt battery parallel to the power supply, but I am not sure if this is a good idea, or how to do it.

From one controller documentation I read:
If a power supply that cannot sink current is being used (bench top and AC to DC switching power supply), the input voltage will rise when the driver is regenerating (motor is slowing down). Thus, it is important to connect a battery with same voltage in parallel with the power supply to absorb the current generated by the motor. Else, the input voltage might rise to a level where SmartDrive160 will be destroyed permanently.
Also from another controller supplier, they show how to connect a battery in parallel with an ATX power supply here

From the above posts I understand this might be the cause of the burn, as I did not have anything to absorb the regenerated current (if there was any)
For my questions, which I have many, but I'll start with a few:
  1. Is this even a good idea to wire a battery in parallel to the power source?