Burned out SMD resistor in slushy machine

patrickbryanbedard

Joined Mar 4, 2022
Hi Everyone,

I am a complete amateur, have been working as a Electrician on ships for a few years. Slowly but surely learning electronics. Anyhow I'm writing to ask for advice on a broken slushy machine. I found the resistor on the control board is burned up, I can no longer read the value to replace and don't have a diagram. There's a capacitor next to the resistor, the output of this part of the circuit drives the refrigerant compressor. Is this what they call a bleed off circuit?

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!
It's Vevor slushy machine I don't have a manual haven't seen the name plate data.
If it's R1D, what makes you think it's bad? It looks like a 0 ohm resistor which shouldn't be able to dissipate enough power to cause it to open circuit. Have you measured it's resistance?

Irving

Joined Jan 30, 2016
It is a zero ohm resistor and they are commonly used as fusible links. I have a processer card from a washing machine where a wire carrying 240v came loose and touched another connector - the result is an exploded resistor. However that doesn't look so burnt to me - is it open circuit or not?

patrickbryanbedard

Joined Mar 4, 2022
Welcome to AAC!
If it's R1D, what makes you think it's bad? It looks like a 0 ohm resistor which shouldn't be able to dissipate enough power to cause it to open circuit. Have you measured it's resistance?
I did measure, it was in Mohms. Now that you're mentioning it, maybe it's not. It just kind of looked bad and the back of the board had some dis-coloration. Also the Compressor is not coming on..?

Irving

Joined Jan 30, 2016
If its burnt out and its the feed to the compressor then there's a reason its failed.... before replacing it you need to do some checking...

patrickbryanbedard

Joined Mar 4, 2022