Building Circuit but need QA on it.

Derek Emerson

Joined Mar 16, 2016
Hi all

I am working on a basic project, just for personal use. I am attempting to build a pulsating/glowing Kryptonite Crystal, it will be approx 6-7" tall and 3-4" wide. There is a purpose for the Crystal which is another matter so I will not go into it here.

I am hoping to build a circuit that I can sit in the bottom of the crystal and have 2 Green hyper bright 5mm LED's that pulsate alternately which will hopefully be bright enough to be seen by the audience from the stage/performing area. Ideally, I would like it so that neither LED actually goes off completely and as one is fading out the other is fading in so there is always some light been generated.

I have a circuit that I will attach and I would just like to know if what I have will work or if I have made any error's. I'm only an amateur when it comes to electronics but I'm trying at least LOL.

The circuit uses a 555 timer and I have also included a potentiometer so the speed of the pulsating can be adjusted if required. The Schematic shows a 9v battery in use but ideally, I would like to use a smaller battery that is easy to find, maybe a 12v N-type, like in some car remote key fobs but I don't know if it would be sufficient to power the circuit or what the battery life would be, I've used a 7555 timer as these can apparently work at a slightly higher voltage to a standard 555.

The crystal will be made from a silicone mould using clear Epoxy with a touch of green coloring.

Anyway, have a look and let me know what you think.

Attachments

dendad

Joined Feb 20, 2016
Personally, I'd go with an Arduino driving a couple of FETs to PWM the LEDs so you can easily fiddle with the lighting patterns to get the most pleasing results. That would allow you to dynamically change the lighting as needed.

dendad

Joined Feb 20, 2016
I think it will just flash them alternately ;)