Battery question. To parallel or serial?

styrofoam

Joined Jun 16, 2016
I'm an amateur with batteries and circuits.

I'm working on a project that requires a 5V output. The cells I'm using are dictated by the space I have, and I have enough for 6 18650 lithium ion cells. There are efficient V-regs out there that can produce 5V whether I put these in parallel (3.7V) or serial (22.2V). If I parallel them, I estimate that I can get 90% efficiency in the regulator. If I put them in serial, I estimate 86% efficiency.

I plan to use simple, single cell battery holders (with integrated PCB) for each 18650 cell. Beyond the PCB incorporated into each single cell holder, I don't plan to use any other PCB. I'm probably going to take each cell out of the PCB to charge each cell individually, so the holders are only used for discharging. I'm just going to do a very simple wiring job in terms of connecting the 6 single cell holders, and again, this is only for discharging.

The 18650 cells I'm using are all Panasonic and they're all the same model but they were purchased at 2 different times and some were used more than others, so they're not exactly matched. This is a relatively low current application, maybe 5V 800mA output.

Based on the above information, would it be better to put them in serial or parallel? For simplicity reasons, I prefer not to do a combination of serial and parallel, unless it can be demonstrated that this is a better choice.

Thank you.

styrofoam

Joined Jun 16, 2016
It is always safer to put batteries in series.
I understand and I've heard this before. I've actually used these same 18650 cell holders before where I connected 3 of them in series, and they worked well.