[AVIATION RELATED] Circuit of a FMC (Flight Management Computer)

mytree123

Joined Oct 6, 2023
Hello everyone!
I am currently planning a presentation for uni and sadly can't find any circuit drawings online for a FMC. I am a newbie when it comes to circuits so I would find it very helpful if anyone could send me a circuit drawing of a FMC and maybe even describe a bit on how e.g. the insertion of data by the pilots theoreticaly works circuit wise.

What I did find on the internet was that the FMC consists of a few PCB depending on the type. Is that correct?
Thank you in advance and have a nice day!

Cheers
Niels

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Welcome to AAC!
The FMC is a complex thing, so I doubt you will find any circuit drawings for one online. It would require inputs and outputs from/to hundreds, if not thousands, of sensors, switches, motors and control devices. In addition, critical systems are triplicated for safety, requiring three computers whose outputs are compared in a 'voting system'.
I guess the best you could hope for would be a block diagram.
Pilot input is via keyboards, switches and position encoders.

mytree123

Joined Oct 6, 2023
Welcome to AAC!
The FMC is a complex thing, so I doubt you will find any circuit drawings for one online. It would require inputs and outputs from/to hundreds, if not thousands, of sensors, switches, motors and control devices. In addition, critical systems are triplicated for safety, requiring three computers whose outputs are compared in a 'voting system'.
I guess the best you could hope for would be a block diagram.
Pilot input is via keyboards, switches and position encoders.
Hey!
Thank you for the swift reply, this is the info I was looking for. Would you happen to have a block diagram for the fmc? or maybe a circuit drawing for one certain action within the fmc?
Thank again, really appreciate it!

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Hey!