Arduino Uno Pin Compatible PIC Board, bad idea?

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by Travm, Sep 15, 2018.

1. Travm

Thread Starter Member

Aug 16, 2016
    I'm trying to learn about computing, PCB Design, and C programming. I've built some things, had a couple very simple PCB's made, and I'm looking for something to make.
    I've got most of the way through designing a board schematic and I'm just feeling like its maybe a dumb idea. Design as it exists today is for a PIC18F24K40.
    I am not very creative. Also I'm not trying to make something better, just make something that works so I can learn. I thought this is a good idea because after I've built a couple I can play around with the software and see if I can port Arduino sketches or maybe make it compatible with the Arduino software. Or maybe use Arduino Hats.

I started learning with PICs and have never touched an Arduino.

Another project i've half started is just a dev board similar to the curiosity line, but I feel like that's lame because they already exist and are very affordable.

Does any of this make sense?

2. dl324

AAC Fanatic!

Mar 30, 2015
    The first thing you should do is to decide what your objectives are. You don't have to combine them all into the same project. Doing so may just be an exercise in frustration because, as you noted, you're in the early stages of learning.

I too was interested in microcontrollers and didn't know where to start (because I didn't want to learn something that soon became obsolete or inferior to other solutions). It was a classic case of paralysis by analysis. When you're talking about PICs, you have to learn and use their development environment. If you make that investment in learning, that might lock you in.