Arduino Nano RX-TX Module Switching

silverflare

Joined Jun 4, 2024
Hi!
I am trying to make my Arduino Nano switch the device where it is currently communicating with (RX-TX) and I want to make it using NPN Transistors (2N3904) to switch from the ESP-01 to HC-06 (Bluetooth).
I'm kinda new to this and I made this circuit - for ESP-01 only for now with the same circuit for the HC-06. Will this work? What modifications should I do? I want to try putting the transistors to the ground instead, will that work too?

Attachments

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Hi!
I am trying to make my Arduino Nano switch the device where it is currently communicating with (RX-TX) and I want to make it using NPN Transistors (2N3904) to switch from the ESP-01 to HC-06 (Bluetooth).
I'm kinda new to this and I made this circuit - for ESP-01 only for now with the same circuit for the HC-06. Will this work? What modifications should I do? I want to try putting the transistors to the ground instead, will that work too?
You don't have to do that. Just wire directly to the RX and TX pins of the device.
Each device has an enable input (EN). Enable the device you want and disable the device you don't want.

You can use one output pin from the Arduino to select. Use a transistor to create a NOT gate.

Dave Lowther

Joined Sep 8, 2016
Hi MrChips
Each device has an enable input (EN).
I'm interested in this topic too. I'm not sure what you mean by what you said in the above quote.
Do you mean:
1) The enable pin is there by default or
2) Use a GPIO pin as enable, read it in software and when not enabled then change the TX pin to an input and ignore anything on the RX pin?
If you mean 1) then I don't understand where the EN pins are for the two devices. I can't see an EN pin on either
Nano Schematic, or ESP01 manual

silverflare

Joined Jun 4, 2024
You don't have to do that. Just wire directly to the RX and TX pins of the device.