Arduino light sensing timer circuit

Chris Danckert

Joined Mar 10, 2010
I am attempting to build a after dark lighting system. I am using a arduino and a LDR to control the lights via a relay. I am seeking code that would allow the lights to remain on for 5 hours and then turn off after the circuit sensors the lack of daylight.

woozycactus

Joined Jan 4, 2021
I am attempting to build a after dark lighting system. I am using a arduino and a LDR to control the lights via a relay. I am seeking code that would allow the lights to remain on for 5 hours and then turn off after the circuit sensors the lack of daylight.
I am not a pro with arduino but im pretty sure your going to need a real time clock device to make this work which elego sells.

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
Yes, you can do it with an Arduino. Click here's sample code would likely work and as djsfantasi points out you will not get split second accuracy but close enough for most basic applications. That said Westinghouse markets a bunch of timers popular for exterior lighting that will do exactly what you want done. Years ago, about 20 years ago I bought a few of these timers for outside use. One mode was on at dark and you simply set how many hours after On you wanted Off. Mine were Westinghouse Model 28011 and looking at some newer ones similar on Amazon but they seem to only offer 2, 4, and 6 hour delays till Off which does not get you the 5 hours you want. They call them "stake timers" only because you use a stake to shove them into the ground. Here is a real basic flavor which does exactly what you want and includes a 5 hour delay for off after on at dusk. Now they seem to cost about $35 USD and I am looking at 120 VAC 60 Hz flavors but sure they can be had in other voltages and switching load currents. Here is another for about $23 USD with two grounded outlets.