AND Gate not working correctly

Octain

Joined Feb 12, 2019
I am new to electronics so I don´t have much knowledge yet. I tried to make an AND Gate with control LEDs behind the Input. When simulating, everything worked but in reality with my plug circuit board the green LED was lighting when only the second switch was turned on since the electricity also flows from base to emitter if i am right. (On the circuit board i used a 10k Ohm resistor instead of 1k)AND_name.jpg

How do I have to change this in order that it´s working?

pmd34

Joined Feb 22, 2014
Hi Octain, you are right in that some of the current going into the base will go directly to the emitter of the second transistor, though it should only be a tiny current if you use a 10K resistor as you say. You could check to see if the brightness of the LED is the same as when the LED is lit up through a 10k directly.
However... have you checked the transistors are the correct way around, I see the order of the pins is reversed compared to your diagram:
http://www.interfacebus.com/semiconductor-transistor-packages-TO-92.html

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
Please post the schematic you started with. Neither switch is wired correctly for what you are trying to do. The wiring of both switches should be identical, and they are not.

Do you want the red LEDs to come on when the inputs are high or low?

ak

Octain

Joined Feb 12, 2019
Thank y for your Answers. This is just a model of the real life project. I am sure i am using the transistors right. The red LEDS should be lighting when the switch is "on" (left position). When both red LEDs are on the green one should be too. In practice i had the problem that the tiny current was enough to make the green LED light a bit when the second switch was off. My question is how to block any current going to that green LED (e.g. with more NPNs or maybe with a PNP transistor).

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!