Active band-reject filter analysis

Let_07

Joined Mar 16, 2017
Hello :)

Recently I've been trying to analyse an active band-reject filter in order to make some simulations but so far I didn't have success.

The filter looks like this:

Considering a capacitor of 1uF, how can I calculate the rest of the components having a low-cut frequency of about 20KHz and high-cut frequency of about 30KHz? Or better say central frequency of 25KHz

Also I would like to have no gain, just to simply cut between those frequencies and be able to "mess" with the Q factor... However I'm really struggling to have the correct formulas. I know it might look easy but I'm not very experienced in this and I would like your help

Thank you

joeyd999

Joined Jun 6, 2011
It seems to me this is a band-pass, not band-reject filter. The gain is varied by changing the values of R1/R2. E
The "loop gain" is determined by Q, which is a function of R1 and R2.

The overall gain is attenuated by voltage divider R3 and R4.

Here's a spreadsheet I designed for designing 4th order circuits.

Edit: Sorry, slightly different topology.

Let_07

Joined Mar 16, 2017
Thank you for the answers. I'll try to analyze some of the files sent.

Regarding this being a band-pass filter, I did some simulations on LTSpice and obtained the following results:

ltspice.png

So it seems to work as a band-reject. Before I was doing some research on internet and bandpass filters look similar except that there are no resistors R3 and R4... (I'm not saying you are wrong, just providing the information I got from my research)

So, I basically have a band reject filter, I just don't know how to tune it correctly expect from "throwing" random values at the simulation and hope for it to work, which is not really ideal solution :/

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Perhaps a notch filter would better do what you want.
Below is the LTspice simulation of a Twin-T active notch filter with adjustable Q.