Ac coupling capacitor - HDMI

Danieledp

Joined Oct 22, 2021
I'm studying the AC coupling capacitor for high frequency video signals and in every schematic they are always using a 0.1uf value at the source.
I've looked around to find some proper document explaining what will happen (with tests) if an higher/lower capacitance is used in the circuit.
Obviously higher capacitance means lower impedance for lower frequencies but wouldn't that improve the signal overall?
What's the point of using always 0.1uf? Cheaper and does his job "good enough"? Any document to read about this specific aspect?

Thanks

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
There was this meeting in 1971 that set the 0.1uf standard. Let me see if I can find the document. ;)

Yes, using 01.uf is a 'rule of thumb' type standard that usually works. If experience or circuit requirements dictate something else, then you use something else.
1708291408783.png
1708291477223.png

Danieledp

Joined Oct 22, 2021
So hypothesizing, the usual 0.1uf capacitor for videosignals are mostly 0402 size.
Lowering the size (0201) will improve the impedance for higher frequencies
What will happen to the HDMI output signal, hypothetically, if we place a 10uf 0201 for ac coupling?
Shouldn't it distort the videosignal with higher capacitance overspecs?
OR simply increase the signal quality because the lower lowfrequency impedance?
So only the impedance plays the fundamental role (0402 0.1uf vs 0201 10uf)
Ergo increasing capacitance given the same capacitor quality (x7r c0g etc) could only improve the signal?

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
So hypothesizing, the usual 0.1uf capacitor for videosignals are mostly 0402 size.
What will happen to the HDMI output signal, hypothetically, if we place a 10uf 0201 for ac coupling?
Ergo increasing capacitance given the same capacitor quality (x7r c0g etc) could only improve the signal?
Think logically without just throwing out ideas. Explain why you think something should happen.

Danieledp