8 bit Parallel in Serial Out

spitty19

Joined Apr 5, 2015
I am trying to create a laser communication system using a 8x8 BJT the BJT is coming from a 3x8 decoder and it working properly, but I have never really worked with a shift register before and am looking for some help and or insight on my situation. I don't know If I am using the correct shift register or not but I have attached an image of what I am working on right now and where I am at.

Attachments

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
What is an 8x8 BJT?

8-bit shift registers are available.
You have to decide if you want:

serial-in/parallel-out such as 74HC595
or
parallel-in/serial-out such as 74HC165

spitty19

Joined Apr 5, 2015
My apologies I thought I said it in my original post I want the parallel in serial out. and what is the difference from those to the SHIFT_8PIN that I am using in my project now as seen in the picture? Like I said I am pretty new to the shift register game haha

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
You could also look at one of the USART/UART IC's, there have been quite a few in the past, I believe the Maxim MAX3100 series will do it.
Max.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
A USART/UART, as Max suggested, has built-in synchronism for the transmitter and receiver of the parallel-serial-parallel data at each end, which a standard shift-register does not.

spitty19

Joined Apr 5, 2015
is that available in multisim, I guess I should expressed that initially that I am performing everything on multisim until the output from my shift register, id like to stick with the 74HC165 as Mrchips had suggested if possible, as once I get it working in multisim I believe I have some of those readily available

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Presumably if you have a parallel to serial data transmission, there is some kind of protocol decoding to be done on the receiving end?
Max.

spitty19

Joined Apr 5, 2015