6 Resistors in series, why ?!!!

AymanKhuzundar

Joined Apr 2, 2017
Hi everyone,
I'm studying a product , when I opened it I found a set of 6 SMD resistors connected in series and want to know why to add 6 instead of 1 or 2.
the circuit is a delay-on timer, it uses 220VAC mains voltage, the circuit uses a capacitive divider to decrease the voltage to 20V, the circuit contains a relay; so to avoid the increasing of the voltage they put 6 resistors as a load when the relay is off so the same current flow and the same voltage will still.
when dividing the 20V by (6*270ohm) resistors we get 3.33V across each resistor and the dissipation in each resistor is about 0.04W, but here they uses 0.125W SMD resistors.
1- Sorry because I haven't the full schematic of the circuit.
2- why do they use 6 resistors instead of 1 or 2 equivalent ? (I know when dealing with high voltages they prefer to connect more than one resistor to avoid humidity of any thing that may destroy the circuit, but why 6 !!!)
3- why the resistors size is 3 times the required size? (SMD resistor with 3.2mm length, 1.6mm width).

Thanks.

Danko

Joined Nov 22, 2017
When relay is off, energy, stored in coil as magnetic field, produced at coil leads high voltage pulse.
Energy of this pulse dissipates on resistors and heats them.
For lovering temperature of resistors, energy spreads between 6 resistors.
For same purpose resistors have bigger size (more area of dissipating surface - lower temperature).

AymanKhuzundar

Joined Apr 2, 2017
When relay is off, energy, stored in coil as magnetic field, produced at coil leads high voltage pulse.
Energy of this pulse dissipates on resistors and heats them.
For lovering temperature of resistors, energy spreads between 6 resistors.
For same purpose resistors have bigger size (more area of dissipating surface - lower temperature).
the relay has its own fast-switching diode connected to its coil, I don't think so

MrAl

Joined Jun 17, 2014