555 Timer Time off between motor reverse direction

Kika37

Joined Apr 3, 2020
Hi there community,

I have a doubt that I would like to share with you guys. In the attached photo I have a 555 timer running on astable mode, a circuit that I would like to be applied into a screen wiper concept.

The idea is that the engine could run in one direction, followed by an off time and after it started again automatically, it could run in the opposite direction, that is: turn right - stop for a few seconds - turn left and thus follow the cycle again .

In the photo (I used the Tinkercad online software) I can run the motor in both directions but I am unable to find a solution so that it can stop for a few seconds before reversing the direction.

I already tried with a DPDT relay but due to connection reasons (I am not an expert) of the relay with the circuit, I can't also make it work as I explained above.

Do any of you guys have a possible "user friendly" solution?

Thank you in advance.

Kika37

Attachments

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
If the motor reverses in your actual circuit then your drawing is wrong. It shows both of the motor wires connected directly to the battery

Kika37

Joined Apr 3, 2020
If the motor reverses in your actual circuit then your drawing is wrong. It shows both of the motor wires connected directly to the battery
Thanks for the input AlbertHall. Any suggestion then on how to re-make the connection?

Regards,
Kika37

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
As pointed out, you wired the motor wrong. It isn't connected directly to the battery, but the red connection is in the wrong hole.

Your cartoon with component designators used in the schematic.
1585933564604.png

Drawn more conventionally; with the motor connection corrected:
1585933625816.png
I couldn't read the terminal labels on the transistors, but could tell what you intended by the connections. It's easy to see why the circuit doesn't work.

Kika37

Joined Apr 3, 2020
Welcome to AAC!