555 Timer PWM Hobby Motor Speed Controllor

Sophiastephanos

Joined Apr 28, 2024
Hi all,

Somewhat new to electronics. I studied mechanical engineering and learned a lot of electronic principles in some EE courses but very little hands on application outside of solving drawn circuits.

I am trying to build a speed controller using the following circuit with a CMOS 555 timer for power conservation:

1714939833685.gif
I don’t have a potentiometer so I wired pin 7 directly the node between Ra and Rb. I also don’t have a 10nf cap so I am using a 100nf off of pin 5.

Instead, I tested the model with the following R values:

1)
Ra = 10K
Rb = 10K
C = 50nF

2)
Ra = 10K
Rb = 100K
C = 50nF

3)
Ra = 100k
Rb = 10k
C = 50nF

For some reason all 3 of these setups are resulting in the same RPM/motor voltage drop of 2.5V when providing a 3.3V power supply.

Circuit link:
https://www.electronics-tutorials.ws/blog/pulse-width-modulation.html

Can anyone see a problem with the circuit design/ a reason why changing these values is not changing the motor speed/voltage drop?

My end goal is a specified RPM, so if omitting the pot is my problem, how can I set the circuit up once the R values are defined to omit the pot for a constant specified motor speed?

Thank you!!
Sophia

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
You need a pot to easily adjust the PWM duty-cycle.

Try this modified circuit configuration (LTspice sim below):
Note, that the frequency doesn't vary for pot settings of 50% (green trace) and 90% (yellow trace) duty cycle.
how can I set the circuit up once the R values are defined to omit the pot for a constant specified motor speed?
Why do you need to remove the pot, as the motor speed will vary depending upon component tolerances, and the load on the motor?
If you need to remove the pot, then measure the pot resistance from each end to the wiper (after removing it from the circuit) and substitute fixed resistors for those two values.

1714943996220.png

Last edited:

dl324