5 in 1 oscilloscope from ebay, measuring accuracy

ninjaman

Joined May 18, 2013
hello,

i bought one of these recently,
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PC-USB-2C...731978?hash=item1a014951ca:g:nWgAAOSwYGFUs8Eh

i set the dds to 20Mhz on sine wave and tried to measure it on the oscilloscope and the oscilloscope couldnt measure it, it showed 20Hz instead. i dont know if this is how it would show it.

is there some way to test the accuracy of this device. i dont have any other test equipment and i am new to testing things.

any advice on this would be helpful. i cant afford much so getting an expensive £100 or more for an oscilloscope alone, not including dds and other stuff that comes with this.

thanks

simon

ninjaman

Joined May 18, 2013
hello

i am sorry but i dont know how to do that. i have just read some information about nyquist and sampling. i think that to see the 20Mhz sine wave on the oscilloscope i would require an oscilloscope that could sample at least twice this rate. as i understand it the oscilloscope has a bandwidth of 20Mhz, i think that the bandwidth refers to the maximum bandwidth measurable but of a square wave. so the maximum bandwidth the oscilloscope can measure is 20Mhz but square wave. i think that there is a percentage or some level that says what maximum sine wave can be measured. i cant remember but i think 60-70%. so if the bandwidth says 20MHz then the maximum sine wave is around 60-70 percent of that(?)....is this correct at all?

thanks for your reply slk001

simon

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
i think that the bandwidth refers to the maximum bandwidth measurable but of a square wave. so the maximum bandwidth the oscilloscope can measure is 20Mhz but square wave.
Bandwidth refers to sine wave response. For a square wave, BW needs to be 5-7X. Viewing a 20 MHz square wave with a 20 MHz BW scope will give you something more like a sine wave.