400Mhz Phase Detector circuit

Cery

Joined Nov 27, 2014
Hi,
I don't know whether this is the right Forum tell me if not.
I'm trying to develop a Phase Detector circuit.
In theory it's pretty simple:
I've got two 400Mhz sine wave signals with different phase offsets.
Then i convert them to a square wave signal by using a simple Op-Amp or Comparator.
Problem 1: I wonder wich Op-Amp I should use for a 400Mhz signal. Or do i need to use some kind of comparator for Frequencies that big?

Problem 2: How do i then perform some kind of XOR Logic?
I thought about adding one Signal in reverse to the other and then cut of any negative current with a diode...

I'm pretty new to this topic, feel free to post any links or Websites which could help.
An Answer would be great!
Greetings,
Cery

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
That is a reasonable signal level to work with. I don't think you will find standard TTL or CMOS logic familes able to work at those speeds. You might have a shot with PECL, or Positive Emitter Coupled Logic for the XOR function. I haven't found any discrete opamps or comparators that will work at those speeds, but that doesn't mean they don't exist. Since your signal inputs are sine waves, why do you think an XOR phase detector will be effective even if you could make it accurate enough. 2.5 ns is an awfully small time window to work with. Would using a prescaler on both signals work for you?

Cery

Joined Nov 27, 2014
Thanks Papabravo,
since my input signal is a sine wave with varying amplitude i wanted to create a Phase detector which is independent from the Amplitude.
I thought I would convert it to a square wave first to have constant high and low values and then XOR them together.

I'll think about using a prescaler. It might be a good solution for my project...
thanks,
Cery

Tesla23

Joined May 10, 2009
So how would you use a synthesizer as a phase detector?