4 poles to 3.5mm audio

Yemto

Joined Apr 7, 2015
I have a circuit board which have four poles to audio out, R+ R- L+ L- is there a way to combine L- and R- into ground so it would be possible to solder it into a 3.5mm plug?

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
You want a three pole audio out signal like, LEFT, RIGHT, GND. It occurs in multiple place that I'm aware of so it must be OK.

Yemto

Joined Apr 7, 2015
You want a three pole audio out signal like, LEFT, RIGHT, GND. It occurs in multiple place that I'm aware of so it must be OK.
Yes, but I want to know how I convert L- and R- to GND. From what I know it's not as simple as just solder them together.

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
AFAIK (I'm not an expert), it depends on the amplifier. Some have differential outputs, and connecting the grounds together may shut down the amplifier. This link is the story of someone who tried to connect the grounds together and could not get their amplifier to work.

ebeowulf17

Joined Aug 12, 2014
It depends on whether those outputs are balanced outputs or not. With unbalanced outputs, the L- and R- would both already be tied to ground and would be totally safe to join together. With balanced outputs, the L- and R- would be signals with reversed polarity relative to L+ and R+. You wouldn't want to tie those together, although I don't think it would damage anything; it would just reduce your stereo width.

Odds are good that it's unbalanced, but I thought I'd throw this out there just in case.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Yes, but I want to know how I convert L- and R- to GND. From what I know it's not as simple as just solder them together.
You have to show us the schematic diagram of your board. It would also be helpful to know what you are connecting it to.

Yemto

Joined Apr 7, 2015
Isn't there a circuit I could make that could convert the outputs into R, L, and GND? or would I need a small computer (Raspberry Pi?) to convert the signals into what I want?

Yemto