12v Power Distribution

MikiSJ

Joined Jun 3, 2020
This is my first post and I hope it is not too simple a request. I am an amateur astrophotographer and have a need for 5 (or more) 12v supplies to the back of my telescope and 1 (or more 5v) supplies. None of the instruments requires more than a couple of amps and the 5v supply would be for a USB hub. I am trying to reduce the number of power cables and USB cable running to the back of the scope.

I would like to run one 12v 10a line to a distribution box with fused connection to each of the 12v uses. I think a 10amp source would be adequate as not all of the uses would be required at the same time. I am more than willing to break out the soldering iron and I think I know how to do the 12v distribution using blocks and fuses but how would I down sample to get the 5 volts?

Please be gentle!

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
It is way more efficient to run the AC mains out to the observation point and plug the power supplies into the mains. You can run DC power over medium distances, but the longer the run the greater the voltage drop.

MikiSJ

Joined Jun 3, 2020
But astronomers like to go to places where it's dark and no electricity. Stray Light messes up their celestial images.
I actually image from my backyard and a thirty foot extension cord supplies my gaggle of bricks and wall warts. I am trying to get down to one 12vdc supply and branch out on the back of my telescope.

With the right light filters you would be amazed at what I can capture on a CMOS sensor from my very light polluted San Jose, CA location.

I don't know what you have, but hopefully one 12V supply is all you need with a ebay switching regulator to get to 5V. You can add an Overvoltage protector for your 5V stuff. Hopefully everything can share the same common.