12v Cascade ( Powder Coating )

Roger60

Joined Feb 29, 2020
Hi all,
I am new to AAC and really envious of the people's knowledge on here.
Many years ago my knowledge began with the old CRT tv but unfortunately my life took a different path.

If you don't mind me asking.
It is with reference to a Powder Coating controller.
My understanding is a low voltage oscillator with high frequency negative output, which is then sent to a voltage multiplier ( cascade unit.)
Please correct me if I am wrong as my current unit has failed so if anyone could give me a basic insight that would be great.
My unit is a sealed system so is not meant to be played with.
I would really appreciate any input or advice.
Many thanks in advance.
Kindest Regards.

Roger60

Joined Feb 29, 2020
Thank you for the reply.
It is a resin sealed unit so i know it's is irreparable.
Running by a switching relay for the negative oscillation which then goes to a HV unit (sealed).
Cheap and Chinese
I am thinking if it's viable to make a basic system which could be run by electronics rather than a relay.
Any advice would be very much appreciated.

Roger60

Joined Feb 29, 2020
Thank you Shortbus,
I purchased an after market gun and a cascade unit a few weeks earlier as I knew the one I had would not last.
Since my original unit gave up the ghost, I took it apart and saw the internals were nothing like I had expected.
The cascade unit is powered by 12v and that is as much as I know about it.
Attached are pictures of said items.Screenshot_20200303-001316.jpg

Roger60

Joined Feb 29, 2020
Sorry I posted before finishing.
I have looked at the link's you put up ( very much appreciated ) and the 555 timer has been mentioned.
In your opinion would you go down this route?
Unfortunately i only had a few months working with tv's many years ago. But was well aware of the HV line output transformer.
All advice and help is very much appreciated ;)

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
Thank you for the reply.