AC Voltage Rectification Formula

leetch02

Joined Mar 11, 2005
Hello, I am an electrotech student stuck on an equation which I am unsure of. We are presently on the Power Supply Filtering, rectification topic, converting AC to a DC using 4 diodes. We also learn't that by adding a capacitor, we are able to hold the peak AC value with minimal lost, this is called the ripple effect. However, in our textbook we are given this formula Vrpp=(T*Vdc)/(Rl*C). Our teacher told us to use the peak value Vm so the equation becomes Vrpp=(T*Vm)/(Rl*C). What is the correct formula for Voltage ripple peak to peak, Vrpp?

pebe

Joined Oct 11, 2004
Originally posted by leetch02@May 17 2005, 05:48 PM
Hello, I am an electrotech student stuck on an equation which I am unsure of. We are presently on the Power Supply Filtering, rectification topic, converting AC to a DC using 4 diodes. We also learn't that by adding a capacitor, we are able to hold the peak AC value with minimal lost, this is called the ripple effect. However, in our textbook we are given this formula Vrpp=(T*Vdc)/(Rl*C). Our teacher told us to use the peak value Vm so the equation becomes Vrpp=(T*Vm)/(Rl*C). What is the correct formula for Voltage ripple peak to peak, Vrpp?
[post=7754]Quoted post[/post]​
I don’t know that there is an accurate formula for ripple. It depends on for how long the supply charges the capacitor and for how long it discharges. The rectifier diodes conduct when the supply AC voltage exceeds the voltage across the capacitor (plus the diode voltage drop) after the discharge period. The capacitor voltage at the end of the discharge period depends on the current drawn by the load. The diodes cease to conduct when the AC voltage is no longer high enough to charge the capacitor. So the diode ‘on’ time is a variable. I usually assume the duty cycle to be 10% ‘on’ and 90% ‘off’.