Oil tank Level sensor?

mpooley

Joined Mar 3, 2010
Hi all
I am new to this forum, Have not done any electronics for 30years so I am a bit out of date lol

I am hoping to make an accurate sensor to record my Home heating oil tank levels on a daily basis to my PC.
I am a competent programmer and I think I can make the connection to the pc ok.

What I need help on is the oil level sensor and the wifi send and receive circuits.

can any one help me ? pleeese lol

Mike:confused:

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
Hi all
I am new to this forum, Have not done any electronics for 30years so I am a bit out of date lol

I am hoping to make an accurate sensor to record my Home heating oil tank levels on a daily basis to my PC.
I am a competent programmer and I think I can make the connection to the pc ok.

What I need help on is the oil level sensor and the wifi send and receive circuits.

can any one help me ? pleeese lol

Mike:confused:
Maybe you can get some ideas and info about sensors here. http://www.automatedsonix.com/level_sensors.htm

Duane P Wetick

Joined Apr 23, 2009
Nowadays, the most reliable devices for non-contact fuel level sensing are the ultrasonic devices with analog DC outputs. The output can be put into your computer via a signal conditioner;( B&B Electronics.)

Cheers, DPW [ Everything has limitations...and I hate limitations.]

mpooley

Joined Mar 3, 2010
Of course this is the place to ask.
I was wondering why you didn't do your homework ;)
I have looked at loads of sites but was hoping for opinions about the best things to try as I am so out of date but if this forum is not for helping out people such as me then

forget it and sorry i wasted your time.:mad:

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
cool it buddy, I just point out that you haven't' had touch with electronics for 30 years,
and now you are trying to interface a circuit to a PC.