Oil tank Level sensor?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by mpooley, Mar 3, 2010.

1. mpooley

Thread Starter Active Member

Mar 3, 2010
    Hi all
    I am new to this forum, Have not done any electronics for 30years so I am a bit out of date lol

I am hoping to make an accurate sensor to record my Home heating oil tank levels on a daily basis to my PC.
    I am a competent programmer and I think I can make the connection to the pc ok.

What I need help on is the oil level sensor and the wifi send and receive circuits.

can any one help me ? pleeese lol

Mike:confused:

2. R!f@@

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 2, 2009
    Im speechless.....

3. mpooley

Mar 3, 2010
    why?
    I am only asking for some pointers or ideas?

is this not the place to ask?

4. nsaspook

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 27, 2009
    Maybe you can get some ideas and info about sensors here. http://www.automatedsonix.com/level_sensors.htm

5. R!f@@

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 2, 2009
    Of course this is the place to ask.
    I was wondering why you didn't do your homework ;)

6. Duane P Wetick

Apr 23, 2009
    Nowadays, the most reliable devices for non-contact fuel level sensing are the ultrasonic devices with analog DC outputs. The output can be put into your computer via a signal conditioner;( B&B Electronics.)

Cheers, DPW [ Everything has limitations...and I hate limitations.]

7. mpooley

Mar 3, 2010
    I have looked at loads of sites but was hoping for opinions about the best things to try as I am so out of date but if this forum is not for helping out people such as me then

forget it and sorry i wasted your time.:mad:

8. R!f@@

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 2, 2009
    cool it buddy, I just point out that you haven't' had touch with electronics for 30 years,
    and now you are trying to interface a circuit to a PC.
    This is not just a DIY type of thing, and you should at least learn about the sensors and transducer amplifiers data sheets so that you can refresh your memory.