All About Circuits Forum  

Go Back   All About Circuits Forum > Electronics Forums > General Electronics Chat

Notices

General Electronics Chat Discussion forum for general chat about anything electronics related, including asking questions about material in the All About Circuits E-book, Worksheets, and Videos.

Reply   Post New Thread

Old 08-18-2009, 06:50 AM

Default LED Pulsating\Dimming with 555 Timer

Ok, I have some experience with electronic circuits and for the life of me cant figure out how to get the effect I want. I want to make a pulsating LED. I want it to blink but at the end slowly fade, than come back on fully and fade again.

I have a circuit that blinks the LED at the speed I want, but cant figure out how to make it fade. Ive tried google and cant find anything.

The effect can be seen on a PC motherboard here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x97tVW8t1vs

The LED is near the bottom left corner of the heatsink.

My current circuit and graph looks like this, you can see what I want to do with the voltage with the little green line that I made in paint. Its supposed to be exponential decay if you cant tell

Ive tried playing with capacitors but They always just make it blink like normal. Im now pretty sure because the current isnt big enough to charge the cap and power the LED at the same time.

Any way I can get around this?

Thanks!
Old 08-18-2009, 06:56 AM
Super Moderator

Fade In/Fade Out is easy enough, it was discussed in this thread.

http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?t=2389

Another thread is closer to what you want, though it didn't use 555's. It was how to delay a LED on time after the input had gone low, very close to what you want.

http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/sh...ad.php?t=26443

Have you seen this? It has quite few 555 projects and a bit more.

Bill's Index

General info: