LED Pulsating\Dimming with 555 Timer

Rudster816

Joined Aug 18, 2009
Ok, I have some experience with electronic circuits and for the life of me cant figure out how to get the effect I want. I want to make a pulsating LED. I want it to blink but at the end slowly fade, than come back on fully and fade again.

I have a circuit that blinks the LED at the speed I want, but cant figure out how to make it fade. Ive tried google and cant find anything.

The effect can be seen on a PC motherboard here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x97tVW8t1vs

The LED is near the bottom left corner of the heatsink.

My current circuit and graph looks like this, you can see what I want to do with the voltage with the little green line that I made in paint. Its supposed to be exponential decay if you cant tell ;)

Ive tried playing with capacitors but They always just make it blink like normal. Im now pretty sure because the current isnt big enough to charge the cap and power the LED at the same time.

Any way I can get around this?

Thanks! :D

Rudster816

Joined Aug 18, 2009
Ok I think I got it right. The graph looks good but the program (Yenka, random I know) doesnt show the LED dimming.

Am I missing something important here or will this produce an effect close to what im trying to get

Blue is supply voltage, Red is the actual voltage the LED is getting.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
The problem with your concept is LED drop a relatively constant voltage (Vf). You're going to have to have some resistance in there so the capacitor can have more voltage than the LED. Read the second link I suggested, this was discussed in depth.

http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/sh...ad.php?t=26443

Just connect these circuits to the output of the timer. During experiments the OP of that thread decided only one transistor was needed.

.................................................. ..... or