Why Should I Isolate My Power Supply?

JackieTee

Joined May 28, 2019
What started as a task to reduce noise in a current power supply design has evolved to a complete overhaul of our power supply. Being an intern, I have found myself with a lot of very basic questions.

First one being, how do I know if I need isolation in my design? The power supply takes 200V DC and steps it down to 20V DC to supply 2A to our load. The load is being sent down oil/gas pipeline to detect issues in corrosion, deformation, eccentricity, and so on. Additionally, the tool must operate reliably at temperatures as high as 200C.

I have been doing a lot of research on SMPS and I have struggled immensely with the flyback topology. But, it looks like I might have a viable buck converter design. Can a buck be used for this application? Or do I need the isolation that a flyback provides?

Thanks in advance, guys!

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi Jackie,
Welcome to AAC.
I would recommend a transformer isolated SMPS.

MOD:
Posts discussing mains powered, non isolated power supplies are not allowed.

E

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
For this type of application I would look at a linear supply, with this type of installation a SMPS may be prone to electrical storm damage etc, also a consideration is whether you need to earth ground/reference the LV supply.
Max.

Last edited:

JackieTee

Joined May 28, 2019
hi Jackie,
Welcome to AAC.
I would recommend a transformer isolated SMPS.

MOD:
Posts discussing mains powered, non isolated power supplies are not allowed.

E

Can you clarify what you mean? Are you saying that you recommend a transformer-isolated SMPS strictly because discussing a non-isolated SMPS is against the rules of the website?