Why is the mbed power input defined in terms of Volts?

eb123

Joined Jul 3, 2017
I'm new to the exciting world of electronics. My basic understanding is that it is Current (i.e. flow of electrons) which "powers" components - they have no concept of voltage.

If this is the case, then why do we say that the mbed (or any component) requires x Volts to run? What if there's high resistance causing a reduction in Current before "power" reaches the component? Surely then the Voltage is technically the same, but there is less Current to actually "power" the component.

On another forum I heard someone say that the mbed in particular pulls on average 25ma. Why then would it need anywhere near 5V to run?

I = V/R

R is likely to be extremely low on a small wire. So with 5V, there's way more current produced than actually needed.

Obviously there must be a fundamental misunderstanding of the topic, causing my confusion. If somebody could help "correct" it, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
I can see that you are totally confused. Best to start with a clean slate. Forget everything you know about current and voltage.

Where do we begin?
In order to "power" anything electrical or electronic, you need current and voltage.
In order to create current you need voltage. (There are exceptions such as in super-conducting materials but no need to go there for now.)

The calculation for the amount of power required is current multiplied by voltage.

How much voltage is required by any gadget is determined by the manufacturer and the design of the device.
A hearing aid device might need only 1V.
A 1000W audio amplifier might need 100V.

A computer system is based on millions of switching circuits. Each individual switching circuit only needs to generate one of two states, TRUE or FALSE. We can make up any rule of what is defined as TRUE and what is defined as FALSE. For example, we can define 1V = TRUE and 0V = FALSE.