Why capacitive reactance reduces inductive reactance (by intuition/physically not mathematically)?

simon88

Joined Dec 2, 2022
Hi I am newbie here! I understand why capacitive reactance reduces inductive reactance mathematically, having a result of zero at resonant frequency. But how to physically explain the flow of electrons in a series LC circuit, where the coil lags the flow of current (electrons) relative to the applied voltage. How can the capacitor counteract this? By reducing the coil's back EMF? I assume, that if coil blocks electrons flow (current), capacitor can`t counteract it, especially when there is no voltage on its terminals. As the voltage of the power source increases, the first thing it encounters is a coil that prevents it from flowing current. How can the capacitor counteract this, if from the point of view of the power source it is a short circuit at the very beginning? Thank in advance for any explanation:).

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
It does not counteract the inductance. The current still lags the voltage in the inductor in the resonant circuit in the same way. What it does is gives a place for the energy to go such that none is lost, it just flows back and forth between the current in the inductor and the charge in the capacitor.

simon88

Joined Dec 2, 2022
We say that at resonance frequency voltage and current are in phase. However, If coil still causes that current lags the voltage, there should my no current in circuit when voltage source is increasing. Current in every point in circuit should be the same (Kirchhoff's law). So on the left and right side of both coil and capacitor curent also can't flow due to the coil's reactance. Am I wrong?

Of course we are talking about ideal LC circuit.

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi Simon,
Perhaps a visual representation would make it clearer.
E
Two plots , one with an ideal 0R inductor [ Undamped ] and one with an inductor having a 1R internal resistance.