Which microcontroller should I use for this project?

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by Nav Malhotra, May 19, 2017.

1. Nav Malhotra

Thread Starter New Member

May 19, 2017
    Hi,
    I'm fairly new to microcontrollers and have read multiple guides, although still asking the question.
    I have used Arduino for quite a long time and have developed some product concept. I am only 14 years old though.
    I am currently developing a wearable project, therefore size, weight, and battery are huge constraints.
    My project will include; Touch OLED, Gyro, IR LED and receiver.
    As I have used Arduino, I am quite familiar with the Arduino offset of C++.
    It will be appreciated if the MCU has example codes/ others have used similar components.
    Could you please help me on both; hardware and software.

Thankyou in advance.

2. R!f@@

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 2, 2009
    Welcome to AAC

I dunno much abt arduino but what are you planning to make ?

3. qrb14143

Mar 6, 2017
    The Texas Instruments MSP430 and MSP432 range come in all shapes and sizes and are fairly cheap. They're a bit less "beginner friendly" than arduino though. How good is your programming?

4. BR-549

Distinguished Member

Sep 22, 2013
    Congratulations. 14.....you have a talent. I suggest you go with a professional environment now....just as mentioned earlier.

There are several to consider.....after getting familiar with one....get a little familiar with all.

Pretty soon they'll have all my desktop in a speck and using high level language. You have a great future.

5. Nav Malhotra

May 19, 2017
    Hi,
    Im not planning to use Arduino in this project.
    Planning to use a microcontroller only.

6. Nav Malhotra

May 19, 2017
    My programming is decent (probably an amature).
    Therefore I would appreciate if their are example codes, that I can then edit.
    I am pretty familiar with the Arduino C++ offset though.

Thanks

7. StayatHomeElectronics