What went wrong? Fried a solenoid during testing.

Niklasm

Joined Apr 9, 2018
I'm an engineer but just the mechanical kind... Also, this is my first post! =D

Background:

I'm setting up a simple flow control system for my aquarium with a set of solenoids to direct the water flow as it leaves the pump.
I currently have 2x 24v DC latching solenoid valves activated by an optocoupled relay module driven by a raspberry pi. The relays are actuated by the pi's onboard 3.3v supply and they close the 24v line to the DC solenoids. I have a single 24v 2A wall-wart powering the whole system. The pi gets 5vout of a voltage converter which is wired in parallel to the normally open 24v line going to the switch side of the relays.

Problem:
I managed to fry both solenoids. I'm an idiot. I know.
What I don't know is why this happened. Before wiring the solenoids to the relays, I manually tested both of them with a DC 24v 0.6A wall-wart and they worked fine, even at constant load. The issues only arose when I began using the 2A supply with the relays. When the relays were activated (manually with jumpers but with the pi still wired up), nothing apparent happened on the solenoid side. The relays definitely closed, but the solenoids didn't move. No smoking, no vibrating, no nothing. BUT when I left the relays closed for more than ~3 seconds, the power supply would reset. I'm guessing the wall-wart has some sort of current protection. Bless the EE gods.