What test equipment needed for a digital lab

robintes

Joined Feb 20, 2023
Hi All
Having spent most of my time in the analog world <1Mhz I recently find myself having to work in the digital world of ic comms interfaces etc. I have all the usual kit for analog work crt scope, dvm, sig gen, 6.5dig bench multimeter , trusty AVO model 8 etc. There's an array of confusing claims out there, and I am a real engineer btw and the hype blinds me. What would you guys recommend, Dig scope - what spec, logic analyser, function gen, frequency counter - whats missing
I am messing with Arduino et al micros and looking at comms, ethernet 232 485 GPIO spi, I2C, UART and particular interest in interfaces with real world devices, encoders, switches etc as I have realised how unreliable this can be and tends to be glossed over.

Any advice from old hands/links most appreciated - I find the WEB just so full of guano hype, infomercials
apologies if Im in the wrong place pls redirect
Robin:)

drjohsmith

Joined Dec 13, 2021
Sounds like you have all you need,
May be a scope with memory, a digital one, may be with 4 traces,
I2c is up to say 1 Mhz, spi typicaly the 10 of Mhz, so a 100 or 200 Mhz scope would ge good, but not needed,
I'd also suggest a magnifying glass, or microscope, so e good light and things like good tweezers, these digital things are dammed small.

robintes

Joined Feb 20, 2023
Thnx 10^6, I was surprised to discover that coming into the digital world needs a different mindset, eg I ran slap bang into the debouncing contact black hole which has challenged designers for a decade. never bother me in my 4-20mA world - except years ago when I was lumbered with relay logic cabinets used for start/shutdown stuff and multi-level sump pumps - very nasty never again. Still this is OTT.