What is this component called

aadhy

Joined Apr 18, 2019
I am a graduate Aerospace Engineering student. I need to wire a pneumatic actuator's controller and a magnetic position sensor for a small part of my research. I received a connection diagram from the company making the controller, and there is a relevant video showing the procedure on YouTube. Since I, unfortunately, don't remember anything from my electrical course years ago, I don't know what a particular component in the video is called. The connection diagram says PLC, but there does not seem to be any 'PLC' in the form I am vaguely familiar with, nor is there any programming involved in the video.

Video -
(from 0:05)
What is that device in the center called? It just seems to transfer i/p-o/p

I have also attached the connection diagram I received.

Thanks in advance!!

Attachments

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Enfield calls it a "Cylinder Positioning System" . Generically, one might call it a proportioning valve. I didn't listen to the whole 9+ minutes. Is it digital or analog? Depending on which, you might add/substitute that in the generic description. As there is a distinction between pneumatic and hydraulic systems, you might also add that distinction like Enfield does.

upload_2019-4-18_15-41-46.png

BTW, those YouTube pictures change. Which center picture are you referring to?

aadhy

Joined Apr 18, 2019
Enfield calls it a "Cylinder Positioning System" . Generically, one might call it a proportioning valve. I didn't listen to the whole 9+ minutes. Is it digital or analog? Depending on which, you might add/substitute that in the generic description. As there is a distinction between pneumatic and hydraulic systems, you might also add that distinction like Enfield does.

View attachment 175266

BTW, those YouTube pictures change. Which center picture are you referring to?
Hello, thanks for answering!