Visual led indication of data or voltage on can bus

ToreanPW

Joined Apr 28, 2024
I will start with the fact that I have little to know knowledge of building circuits. I am in fact looking for someone that is willing to essentially draw me a wiring diagram and even better list of parts needed.

I am building a breakout box for an automotive OBD2 DLC. What I am wanting to do is make a visual indicator of voltage presence on can and lin busses. The idea is if there is no voltage I can wiggle harnesses and see it "turn on" or alternatively un plug a module and see the buss come on. Any actual testing of what is on the network will be done with a lab scope. I am hoping to have an LED for each pin of the DLC to watch for activity. I am not even against just having an led that is on when there is voltage present or if it is possible just on when voltage is between 1 and 5 volts. I would assume that what is used for can high and can low can be adapted for lin bus just need to change voltage levels, but as I said I have very little knowledge of the building of circuits.

Thank you for any help.

Irving

Joined Jan 30, 2016
Welcome to AAC

What you ask is entirely possible, yet can be done in many different ways. However, I'm not sure what you mean by " can and lin busses ". Standard ODB2 CAN connection is pin 6 and 14, plus power and ground. There is no LIN as by default any LIN busses are accessed via the main CAN bus CAN/LIN gateway (usually the dashboard). Also the CANBus on the OBD2 connector may not be the actual Bus that modules are attached to, but one for diagnostics that accesses the real Bus via the gateway but has no physical connection to it.