?Very long distance control circuit for Pump Motor..?

urbanronan

Joined Aug 5, 2014
I need to install a very long (2140ft distance one-way, X2) DC control circuit run through a float switch to control a 220 vac, 1.5 hp submersible water pump in a well pumping up to a gravity feed tank. Tentative planned installation is a wide angle float switch in the water tank, with a solid state relay of some kind at the well, a DC activated relay of some kind with a low input current for the long run. I was planning or hoping to use the solid-state relay to control the power relay to the pump.Conduit is installed in the ground already.

Anyway I am just now getting around to putting this plan into action and was wondering if anyone out there has any recommendations about a similar or better set-up…? I am no expert I could use some practical/experienced advice on what voltage to run to the float switch for such a long run, what relay, and most importantly what recommended wire size (the smaller the wire size I could use all the better, that much wire will be expensive!) I would like to keep the system as simple and functional as possible and not make it overly complicated! Any help is greatly appreciated.:confused:

inwo

Joined Nov 7, 2013
5vdc will turn on a ssr thru 200 ohms. A 12-24 volt supply will be fine. Even a wall wart.

If you have power available on both ends you can even set up a simple telemetry system with line failure indication.

urbanronan

Joined Aug 5, 2014
Thanks for the input.

I do not have power available at the tank, I looked into a telemetry system but they get expensive, needs solar power, and just more maintenance and complication involved.