Understanding this Capacitor Charging Circuit

gronkle

Joined Jun 2, 2012
I have built a working capacitor charging circuit using a diagram that produces significant voltage at the electrodes and lights a torch. The circuit is based on a repurposed 1:50 step up transformer that is driven by a NPN transitor that oscillates the current.

I am a beginner, and I embarrassed to say that there are portions of this circuit that I do not understand even after staring at it for extended periods of time and need some help describing the function at a very basic level.

1. How does this circuit (B portion) oscillate to drive the transformer?
(please describe the stepwise relationship between P1/P2/Q1/C6/S1)
(I am especially interested in understanding the role of C6 in turning on/off Q1)
2. Why is R1 there?
3. Why is R4 in place?
4. What is the best way to measure the high voltage on C5? (I think it is near 4KV and don't want to blow my testor, and the C5 and R4 keep blowing out even though these components are stable on another circuit)

Thank you in advance. This forum has been very useful in the past.

Attachments

JDT

Joined Feb 12, 2009
I have only had a quick look but on your circuit diagram I think the base and collector are connected the wrong way round. Winding 1-2 5 is the driven winding and 3-4 is the feedback winding to the base. R1 is there to limit the base current. This circuit is a "blocking oscillator". Plenty of information about this on line.

R4 limits the output current in case of short circuits. C6 controls the rate-of-rise of the collector voltage (when the transistor is correctly connected) and basically protects the transistor. C6 works in a similar way to the "condenser" in olld IC engine ignition systems.