Understanding frequency

Jtech01

Joined Jan 13, 2017
Please bare with me, i am new to electronics and am trying to understand it bit by bit :)

I downloaded a datasheet for a white led step up converter, in the description it says:

"The AP5724 switches at 1.2MHz that allows the use of tiny external components."

What exactly is the use/benefit of this high switching?
Does this switching affect the output signal and does it affect other devices on the same power line?
If yes, What happens if I connect multiple devices with different (operating) frequencies?

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
The chip is a onboard pwm oscillator working at 1.2Mhz, and dims the leds using high frequency switching for smooth flicker free operation with current limit built in.

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013
It has to do with the frequency relationship with inductance and capacitance. Plus this frequency is for the DC conversion, not directly feeding the LEDs.

k7elp60

Joined Nov 4, 2008
Besides what the other members have stated, I find the interesting part is that it steps up the voltage to run up to six white LED's. The nominal voltage for white LED's is 3 volts DC. If the input voltage to the device is within specifications, about 3 volts it will supply about 18 volts to the light the 6 white LED's in series. The inductor is charged by the device and then the load (LED's) discharge the inductor.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Related to what BR-549 noted, is's mostly related to the size the required inductors and capacitors.
For a given power out, the required size of both inductors and capacitors in a switching power supply goes down with an increase in frequency, so as high a frequency as practical is used for switching power supplies to minimize the size of these components.
The limit is that the losses in the switching devices go up with frequency so that usually sets the upper limit.

Jtech01

Joined Jan 13, 2017
Thank you all for the explanations.