Transponder and radar

Ramiro A. Suarez

Joined Nov 15, 2016
Hi, I am an amateur drone flyer, and electronics enthusiast with engineering background. Along with some other friends we have the problem that our drones sometimes fly out of sight range, and if it happens that they fall to the ground, is extremely difficult if not impossible to find them for recovery, since we don’t have a way to track them through low vegetation. This is important to us because of the value of the components that might survive the fall.

I have read something about RF and 433MHz thinking it could serve the objective of a tracking device, therefore I need advice or ideas on the best ways to build a beacon to place it on the drone (as a transponder) and a receiver (as a radar) to track the thing down. I know is not going to be easy and I am not fixed to the idea of using 433, so if anyone can suggest where to start or an easier solution I will be in debt. Lastly if you rather to write me (technical articles or useful references) please do it to: <snip> .Thank you in advance.

Moderator edit: We do not post email addresses to avoid spam.

Last edited by a moderator:

Ramiro A. Suarez

Joined Nov 15, 2016
Thanks Kermit2 for the fast reply. I was looking for it yesterday, however at the famous commerce company who starts with "Am..." the customers doesn't seem to be very happy with it. I've seen some other similar references with same results, then I thought "why buying something that might be defective, if I can try to make one and hopefully make it better" (I told you I am an enthusiast). Of course I will have to get quality parts somewhere but that is how one of my sons and I built our drone, it makes me very happy to be able to show him that effort most of the time leads to good results and that knowledge is the only asset that nobody can take away from you.

Ramiro A. Suarez

Joined Nov 15, 2016