The E-Series system of preferred numbers

subatomic particle

Joined May 8, 2018
Hello guys,
I am new here, and i am also new to the world of electrical engineering.
Currently i am learning how to read resistors value using resistor color code chart.
The term "E-Series" has been mentioned several times in my lectures, but i really don't know what is the use of it.

Can someone explain to me please? What is this E-Series system and why do we need it?

Thanks in advance :)

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Hello guys,
I am new here, and i am also new to the world of electrical engineering.
Currently i am learning how to read resistors value using resistor color code chart.
The term "E-Series" has been mentioned several times in my lectures, but i really don't know what is the use of it.

Can someone explain to me please? What is this E-Series system and why do we need it?

Thanks in advance :)
In addition (or more properly in clarification) to the Wikipedia article, the notion and concept of the series is pretty easy to explain.

First, let's step back nearly a century to when manufacturing processes weren't nearly as well under control as they are today.

Let's say that your manufacturing processes are such that any component you make ends up being with 20% of the value it was supposed to be. There might be all kinds of reasons for this -- perhaps the humidity and temperature when the part is made has an effect on the final value and your ability to control them is such that the best you can do is ±20%. Perhaps it changes some with age or varies depending on the temperature, humidity, current, or whatever at the time it is being used. Whatever.