Temperature Controller- connecting output with a particular heater

arindam456

Joined May 27, 2024
I have one temperature controller (https://www.selec.com/product-details/universal-pid-with-white-green-display). I want to control the temperature of a stainless steel block using a cartridge heater with 50-ohm resistance and a tolerance of 50V.

I am new to instrumentation. I can't figure out how to connect this temperature controller's output to the heater. I feel I have to use an external power supply for this. However, I don't know how to decide which power supply I should purchase.

Secondly, I would like to use the analog output to control the heater. I think that will provide me with better stability. However, I am open to using the SSR output to control the heater.

Mod: added datasheet.

You can find the details of the temperature controller in the attached links.
Thank you in advance.

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

Ian0

Joined Aug 7, 2020
I want to control the temperature of a stainless steel block using a cartridge heater with 50-ohm resistance and a tolerance of 50V.
Do you mean that you heater is rated for a 50V supply?
In which case you need a 50V transformer (NOT a 50V power supply), because the outputs are rated for up to 250V AC but only up to 28V DC

Irving

Joined Jan 30, 2016
Assuming something like this:
1716808322536.png

its going to take 1A. I'd use a MOSFET switch on either the SSR output or the 10v DC output with a 48v 75W switching supply. An IRFZ44n or similar will handle the 1A without a heatsink and a SMPS will be a lot cheaper than a 50v 50VA transformer.

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
No question as to what to use. It should be a SSR made by a reputable company and stocked by reliable suppliers , and selected to have at least a 50% excess current rating and to be controlled by the controllers output .