Static add a phase

300-3056

Joined Sep 9, 2022
Hello:
First time poster long time reader....

I am an electrician with some college ( long time ago I might add ).
Recently I was asked to solve a simple problem convert some three phase equipment to single phase power.
The simpler solution is use whats called a rotary phase convert or a static converter.
One makes imbalanced but good enough power using a repurposed induction motor and the other using capacitance to start an three phase motor only.

In thinking this out searching for a circuit I once saw that used both a transformer and motor I discovered something I have never seen before a static converter that uses a transformer for phase shifting to create three phase power from a single phase source.
I can't wrap my head around it I don't understand how you can make three power from a single transformer.
So here are a couple links I have that might help explain what I am seeing and a little math to back up how this might work would be appreciated.

One here is a link to some technical papers and there is a IEEE reference to something in fig #5 that looks like SOLA transformer.
It not clear to me how that might be adapted to make 3 phase power.
This would operate in the saturated region and would burn off a lot of power just as heat.
( Not a very good converter if I understand what I am seeing )
A lot of what I have read here is just a touch over my head and what I do understand all seems to operate in the saturated region of the iron, and often requires electronics.
Non of this helps me.....
But I guess its a starting point

https://www.researchgate.net/public...AN_OPTION_TO_RURAL_ELECTRIFICATION_-_A_REVIEW

I see this video and I am thinking inductive phase converter, that's using a more lagging power factor on one leg to create an imbalanced three phase output.
I could see this having some advantages.