SR04, Arduino, and Servo help

djg26

Joined Jan 10, 2018
Hello. I am currently working on making an autoflush circuit for my toilet and I am having some programming-related issues. I am using an Arduino Uno, an HC-SR04 ultrasonic distance sensor, and a servo. I have succesfully written code for the SR04 to display the distance from the sensor. The issue that I am having is programming on the IDE so that if an object is in front of the sensor for long enough (30 seconds), then leaves, for a signal to be sent from the arduino to the servo to rotate 180 degrees to flush the toilet, then rotate back to position 0. I am not a programmer, any assistance is appreciated. AAC won't let me attach the arduino file, so I've appended my code below. Thanks again.

/*
HC-SR04 Ping distance sensor:
VCC to arduino 5v
GND to arduino GND
Echo to Arduino pin 7
Trig to Arduino pin 8

*/

#define echoPin 7 // Echo Pin
#define trigPin 8 // Trigger Pin
#define LEDPin 13 // Onboard LED

int maximumRange = 200; // Maximum range needed
int minimumRange = 0; // Minimum range needed
long duration, distance; // Duration used to calculate distance

void setup() {
Serial.begin (9600);
pinMode(trigPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(echoPin, INPUT);

}

void loop() {
/* The following trigPin/echoPin cycle is used to determine the
distance of the nearest object by bouncing soundwaves off of it. */
digitalWrite(trigPin, LOW);
delayMicroseconds(2);

digitalWrite(trigPin, HIGH);
delayMicroseconds(10);

duration = pulseIn(echoPin, HIGH);

//Calculate the distance (in cm) based on the speed of sound.
distance = duration/58.2;

if (distance >= maximumRange || distance <= minimumRange){
/* Send a negative number to computer and Turn LED ON
to indicate "out of range" */
Serial.println("-1");
}
else {
/* Send the distance to the computer using Serial protocol, and
turn LED OFF to indicate successful reading. */
Serial.println(distance);
}

//Delay 50ms before next reading.
delay(50);
}