Speaker low crossover

KZGamin

Joined Jun 6, 2022
Hey everyone, so I want to make a low pass filter for my portable speaker, and only the powered wires are available. It has two speakers and I want to make one of them a subwoofer.
I’m new to electrics, but I know I need a capacitor and a resistor, but don’t know what rating they have to be.
I have linked to the capacitor I will use, just need help on the resistor part
Any help is appreciated!

Attachments

Audioguru again

Joined Oct 21, 2019
A portable speaker is usually too small to produce low frequencies.
A $25.00 Parts Express 4" woofer in a fairly large vented enclosure goes down to 73Hz which is far from lower sub-woofer frequencies.
Some 10" woofers in a huge vented enclosure are good sub-woofers.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Making a passive lowpass filter from a capacitor and a resistor is just going to waste power and produce disappointing results. In any case, you can compute the corner frequency of the lowpass filter from the following:
\( f_c\;=\;(2\pi RC)^{-1} \)
Suppose we wish to have a corner frequency of 80 Hz. So anything less than 80 Hz will be passed with minimum attenuation, and anything above 80 Hz will be attenuated. So using a bit of algebra we se that:
\( RC\;=\; (2\pi f_c)^{-1}\;\approx\;2\times10^{-3} \)
The solutions are not unique, in fact there are an infinite number of them. The usual approach is to pick and available capacitor value and comput the corresponding resistor value. As an example you could pick:
\[ C=100 \mu F;\;R\;=\;20\Omega \]
To see if we have done this correctly we can simulate the circuit to see the AC response
1654533386424.png
You are down almost 11 dB in the passband and our corner frequency is a bit higher than expected due to the rounding. We can make the corner frequency lower but there is not much we can do, with an RC filter, to the relationship between R1, which is part of the filter and R2 which is modeling the speaker impedance.

crutschow